Estudos em homenagem ao Professor Doutor José Amadeu Coelho Dias
O ciclo vivencial do Mosteiro de Nossa Senhora da Assunção de Tabosa
Maria Luísa Gil dos Santos
AbstractThe Mosteiro de Nossa Senhora da Assunção (Monastery of Our Lady of the Assumption) was founded in 1692 by Dª. Maria Pereira in Tabosa do Carregal. This institution emerged within the context of the spiritual reformation of the Order of Citeaux in the 16th and 17th centuries. It was the last foundation of the Cistercian Order in Portugal destined to offer hospitality to religious women willing to live under the Rule of St. Benedict, as reformulated by St. Bernard. Extinguished by Joaquim António de Aguiar by the Decree of 28 May 1834, the monastery awaited the death of its last nun before definitively closing its doors in 1850. Its assets were consequently integrated into the National Treasury. The Church became parochial in 1852. Unique in style and design, it was classified as a “Building of Public Interest” by the Decree 516/71, DG 274 of 22 November 1971.
Last Update: 2014-07-22
DestaForma, Design e Multimédia
Biblioteca Central © 2006 - All the rights - FLUP